Boats, Snowmobiles, ATV, ORM, ORV, & UTV

Services Offered

Our office is open to the public from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday excluding holidays. To ensure same day pickup, please arrive by 4:15 p.m. 

You may contact our office at 319-892-5420 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Our office will continue to process DNR requests through email, mail, our dropbox located in front of the building, or over the phone. For items placed in the drop box, please put all documents in an envelope marked Recorder’s Office and include your contact information. 

For questions about DNR, please call 319-892-5420 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

New Ordinance Allows ATV Use on Certain County Roads

Two all-terrain vehicles outside

Interactive map.

The Linn County Board of Supervisors approved an ordinance (PDF) allowing the use of all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and off-road vehicles on certain county roads in unincorporated Linn County. The ordinance took effect Friday, June 5, 2020.

For a complete list of the operation requirements and a list of restricted roads in unincorporated Linn County, read the full ordinance (PDF) on the Linn County website. A map of restricted roadways (PDF) is also available online.

Boat Registrations

View or download the Boat Registration Application (PDF), to be used for new boats, renewals, transfers, and duplications of registration, titles, and liens.

To view current Boat Regulation, visit the DNR website.

TypeLengthFirst YearSecond YearThird Year
No Motor - No SailN/A$16.90$12.90$8.90
Motor SailLess than 16 feet$27.40$19.90$12.40
Motor SailBetween 16 and 26 feet$40.90$28.90$16.90
Motor SailBetween 26 and 40 feet$79.90$54.90$29.90
Motor SailMore than 40 feet$154.90$104.90$54.90
All Personal WatercraftN/A$49.90$34.90$19.90
Documented VesselsN/A$29.90$21.50$13.20

Please note: Second- and third-year columns are only for new boats. For renewal fees, use the first-year column. If the registration is already expired, there is a $5 penalty added to the renewal fee.

Vessel / Boat Transfers & Fees

To sell or purchase a vessel / boat requires:

  1. A Bill of Sale signed by the dealer or owner(s) with the date, sale price including the motor, trade-in amount (if applicable), and sales tax paid (if applicable).
  2. Registration signed on the backside by the owner(s) and the buyer’s information
  3. Title (if boat is 17 feet or greater; or there is a Title # on the Registration) signed on the backside by the owner(s) and the buyer’s information and lien information if the buyer is financing the vessel
    • Buyer will need to provide the Lienholder information if financing
  4. If the vehicle is previously owned and/ or registered, but you have no documentation, bill of sale and you cannot locate the owner, Iowa law requires the buyer to go through a bonding process with the DNR prior to registering the vehicle at the County Recorder’s Office. The bonding form and information can be found on the Iowa DNR’s website on the Bonding page at https://www.iowadnr.gov/About-DNR/Bonding.   
  5. If your boat is previously owned and has never been registered, you can register the vessel with a bill of sale and an affidavit for unregistered or untitled all-terrain vehicles, off road motorcycles, off road utility vehicles, snowmobiles or vessels.. The form can be found at https://www.iowadnr.gov/Portals/idnr/uploads/forms/5428074.pdf. The affidavit must be signed by a conservation officer or peace officer after inspection of the vessel.
  •  Duplicate Registrations and Titles can be purchased by the seller at the Linn County Recorder’s Office or by telephone.  Duplicate Registration cost is $3.75. Duplicate Title cost is $12.75.  A duplicate title will require a completed application and the owner’s signature.
  • If the registration is current, the transfer fee cost is $3.75, plus tax.
  • If the registration is expired, the cost is $3.75 for the transfer, $5.00 penalty fee for an expired registration, and the renewal cost (varies based on the boat length), plus tax.  Title and / or lien fee of $12.75 if applicable.
  • If the boat wasn’t purchased in Iowa, you will pay the fee for a new boat registration, 6% sales tax (or the difference, if paid out of state), plus title and/or lien fee if applicable.
  • If the boat was purchased in Iowa, you will pay sales tax based on the sales tax rate on the municipality where the purchase / sale occurred.

FEE SCHEDULE

  • Registration and renewal fees – Depends on the length of the boat- see chart
  • Duplicate registration fees - $3.75
  • Titles - $12.75
  • Liens - $12.75
  • Penalty fees- $5.00

Snowmobiles and Off Road Vehicles (ATV, ORM, ORV & UTV's)

View or download the Snowmobile and Off Road Vehicle Registration Application (PDF), to be used for new snowmobiles and ATV’s, renewals, transfers, and duplications of registration, titles, and liens.

The annual registration fee is $17.75 between January 1 and December 31 of every year. The renewal period for off road vehicles begins September 1 and the deadline to renew is December 31 annually. 

You mail call our office to renew or obtain a duplicate copy of your registration with our office over the phone with a credit card.  You can also renew your registration using the DNR's website.

To view current Snowmobile Reference Guide, visit the DNR website.

To view current ATV/UTV/ORM/ORV Reference Guide, visit the DNR website.

View the Iowa Code for off-road usage.

Snowmobile, ATV, ORM, ORV, UTV Transfers & Fees

To register, sell, or purchase an ATV, ORV, ORM, UTV, Snowmobile requires:

  1. A Bill of Sale signed by the dealer or owner(s) with the date, sale price, trade-in amount (if applicable), and sales tax paid (if applicable).
  2. Registration signed on the backside by the owner(s) and the buyer’s information
  3. Title signed on the backside by the owner(s) and the buyer’s information and lien information if the buyer is financing the vehicle
    • Buyer will need to provide the Lienholder information if financing
  4. If the vehicle is previously owned and/ or registered, but you have no documentation, bill of sale and you cannot locate the owner, Iowa law requires the buyer to go through a bonding process with the DNR prior to registering the vehicle at the County Recorder’s Office. The bonding form and information can be found on the Iowa DNR’s website on the Bonding page at https://www.iowadnr.gov/About-DNR/Bonding.   
    1. If your vehicle is previously owned and has never been registered, you can register the vehicle with a bill of sale and an affidavit for unregistered or untitled all-terrain vehicles, off road motorcycles, off road utility vehicles, snowmobiles or vessels. The form can be found at https://www.iowadnr.gov/Portals/idnr/uploads/forms/5428074.pdf. The affidavit must be signed by a conservation officer or peace officer after inspection of the vehicle.
  •  Duplicate Registrations and Titles can be purchased by the seller at the Linn County Recorder’s Office or by telephone.  Duplicate Registration cost is $7.75. Duplicate Title cost is $11.50.  A duplicate title will require a completed application and the owner’s signature.
  • If the registration has a current IOWA registration, the fee to transfer the vehicle is $17.75, title fee of $11.50, and lien fee of $11.50 (if applicable).  The transfer shall be completed within 45 days at the County Recorder’s Office in the county you reside.  
  • If the registration is from another state, and not currently registered in Iowa, the vehicle shall not be operated until it is titled and registered in the purchaser’s name. 
  • If the registration is expired, the cost is a $5.00 penalty fee for an expired registration, the renewal cost of $17.75, title fee of $11.50, lien fee of $11.50 (if applicable), and sales tax.
  • If the vehicle was not purchased in Iowa, you will pay the fee for a new vehicle registration, title fee of $11.50, lien fee of $11.50 (if applicable) and 6% sales tax (or the difference, if taxes have been paid out of state)
  • If the vehicle was purchased in Iowa, you will pay sales tax based on the sales tax rate on the municipality where the purchase / sale occurred.

FEE SCHEDULE

  • Registration and Renewal fees - $17.75
  • Iowa nonresident user permits - $17.75
  • Duplicate registrations - $7.75
  • Titles - $11.50
  • Liens - $11.50
  • Penalty Fee- $5.00