News Flash


Posted on: December 28, 2018

Swearing-In Ceremonies to Take Place for Five Linn County Elected Officials on January 2

Three incumbent Linn County Supervisors will be sworn in to office at 9:30 a.m. January 2, 2019. The swearing-in ceremony will be held in the Board of Supervisors formal board room at the Jean Oxley Linn County Public Service Center, 935 Second St. SW, Cedar Rapids. The event is open to the public.

Returning to office are Supervisors Stacey Walker, District 1; Ben Rogers, District 2; and Brent Oleson, District 3. Supervisor Walker was first elected to the Linn County Board of Supervisors in 2016 and is the first African American to ever hold the position. Supervisors Rogers and Oleson were first elected to the Board in 2008.

In addition to the Board of Supervisors, two other Linn County incumbents will be sworn in to office on January 2: Linn County Recorder Joan McCalmant; and Linn County Treasurer Sharon Gonzalez.

Incumbent Linn County Attorney Jerry Vander Sanden will be sworn in prior to the January 2 ceremony.

For more information about these offices, visit

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

Tow Ban Lifted for Linn County

Posted on: January 19, 2019
Cover of FY18 Annual Report Linn County Logo

Linn County Issues FY18 Annual Report

Posted on: December 18, 2018
Photo of Brad Ketels

Ketels Named Linn County Engineer

Posted on: October 29, 2018
White dog running through a park with a ball

Plans Advance for Hiawatha Dog Park

Posted on: August 23, 2018