News Flash

Public Health

Posted on: October 26, 2020

Linn County Public Health Epidemiologist Honored With National Award

Linn County Public Health

Linn County, IA - Dr. Amy Hockett, epidemiologist with Linn County Public Health, is the 2020 recipient of the Innovation in Public Health Award from the American Public Health Association’s (APHA) Council of Affiliates (CoA). Dr. Hockett is one of only two Iowans to be honored as national public health leaders at the APHA 2020 virtual awards reception on Saturday, October 24, 2020. 

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic and immediately following the August derecho, Dr. Hockett utilized her epidemiology, Geographic Information System (GIS), and Tableau expertise to quickly develop tools that were critical for decision-making by Linn County Public Health staff, local jurisdictions, community partners, and the public. 

Specific to the derecho, Dr. Hockett quickly convened with cross-sector partners to develop a needs assessment survey that was distributed to Linn County residents through a variety of methods. The survey allowed health and social service organizations to quickly identify and respond to residents’ needs. Again, Dr. Hockett utilized technology systems to effectively design data collection and linkages to community partners to ensure residents’ basic needs such as housing, food, and medication were met.

In her nomination letter, Kaitlin Emrich, assessment and health promotion supervisor with Linn County Public Health states, “Without the development of these innovative technologies and techniques, the response by Linn County Public Health would not have been as robust as it was.”

The CoA represents the body of 53 state and territorial affiliates of APHA.

Read more.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Public Health

COVID-19 Update

COVID-19 Vaccine Phase 1B Update

Posted on: February 8, 2021
COVID-19 Update

COVID-19 Contact Tracing Update

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Idle Free Zone.jpg

Some Linn County Schools Go Idle Free

Posted on: November 15, 2013